Much like an iPod with a color screen, the iPhone can display images that have been synced with iTunes. Unlike such iPods, the iPhone can also generate its own images using the built-in camera. These images are available on the Photo Albums screen and appear when you tap on the Photos icon on the iPhone home screen.
The first option on this screen is Camera Roll. If no photographs have been taken (or if existing ones have been deleted), you will see the icon of a generic camera on the left, and the symbol> on the right, indicating that there is a screen below on which you can do tap to go to the Camera Roll entry. If images were taken with the built-in camera, the icon will change to a preview image corresponding to the last picture taken. By tapping on Camera Roll you can see the preview images corresponding to the images that have been taken with the iPhone camera.
The next entry on the Photos Album screen is Photo Library. This entry contains the previews of all the images that have been synchronized with the iPhone.
The following entries on the Photo Albums screen are specific to photo albums that have been synced with iPhone. This selection and synchronization is done through iTunes and works as follows:
When the activated iPhone is connected to the computer, it will appear in the iTunes Sources list. Once selected, a new window will appear, in which you must click on the Photos tab. In this window, you must click on the Sync Photos From option in the pop-up menu to select the synchronization source, which can be from iPhoto, Aperture (if installed) or any other folder you choose. Near this drop-down menu are the options to sync all photos (followed by the number of images to be synced) or sync the selected albums (or subfolders, in case a specific folder has been selected). As iTunes will indicate at the bottom of this window, you can drag the entries from the list of albums or folders to change their order.
Once you have selected how to synchronize the photos, you just have to click on the Apply button. iTunes will indicate that it is optimizing the iPhone images. The iPhone does not copy the images in their original format to the iPhone; instead, change the resolution to the appropriate size so that it will be displayed correctly on the phone. This operation consumes little time, perhaps a few minutes for a hundred images. Once iTunes has optimized an image for the iPhone, it will not do so later, so subsequent syncs will skip this image optimization step.
Syncing optimized photos to iPhone is an even faster operation. Keep in mind that if you change the sync mode (for example, sync only a few albums instead of all photos), the iPhone images that are not part of the current sync group will be deleted. iTunes will not mix new photos with old ones.
Viewing photos on iPhone is a simple operation. You have to tap on the Camera Roll, Photo Library or album entries to access the page that shows the preview of the images for the selected group. You can also see a full screen version of a specific image by tapping on it. In full screen mode it is possible to scroll to the next or previous image simply by dragging your finger to the left or right respectively.
View photos in full screen on iPhone.
To enlarge the image there are two options. The first is to double tap on it. The second is to use the enlargement gesture, which consists of placing the thumb and index fingers close to each other on a point on the screen and separating them to enlarge the image area. Once the image has been enlarged, you can move around it by placing your finger on the screen and dragging in any direction. In expanded view it is not possible to move to the next image using the previous gesture; Instead, the image must be contracted beforehand, by double tapping on it or reducing it with the gesture that involves the use of the thumb and index fingers.
However, it is possible to move to the next image from an expanded view using the screen controls. These controls contain the Options, Previous, Play, and Next buttons.
When you tap on the Options button, an overlay appears that includes four options: Use As Wallpaper, Email Photo, Assign To Contact and Cancel. These commands define by themselves what their functions are.
By tapping on the Use As Wallpaper option, you will have the opportunity to move and scale the image. You can do this with the gestures described. Once you have the image with the desired size and framing, you only have to tap on the Set Wallpaper option. By doing so, the image will appear on the iPhone when it is locked.
By tapping on Email Photo, the image will be included in a new email message. You just have to fill in the recipient and subject fields and write some text in the body of the message to send it by clicking on the Send button.
When you tap on the Assign To Contact option, the image can be used as the preview image for any of the iPhone contacts. When doing so, the contacts screen will be displayed, where we can tap on a contact and, again, we will have the option of modifying the frame and size of the image.
The next three controls allow you to view the images. The Previous option performs the same function as when you use your finger to scroll left or right. If you tap on the Play option, the slide show starts; and if you tap on the Next icon, you advance to the next image in the sequence.
These controls will disappear from the screen after a short period of time in which no action has been taken. To make the controls reappear, you only have to tap once on the iPhone screen. This same action will also be responsible for stopping a slide show.
Although you can view the images in landscape mode, these controls are not adapted to the view mode, but are always displayed in portrait orientation.
The only way to delete synced images from iPhone is through iTunes (these images cannot be deleted with an on-screen control). This is not the case with images that were captured with the iPhone camera. To delete one of these images, just tap on it to see the image in full screen, then tap on the Trash icon located in the lower right corner of the screen. An overlay will appear offering the options Delete Photo or Cancel.
Adjust photo preferences
As with iPod preferences, you can also configure your phone’s photography preferences on the Settings screen. By tapping on the Settings option on the main screen, you access the settings screen where you will have to make a new tap on the Photos entry. The new screen is where you will find the options to configure the time that has elapsed.