Surprisingly, I have seen this happen multiple times. Someone and I share a Dropbox folder while working on a joint project.
Six months or a year later, someone starts uploading documents to the shared folder that are clearly not intended for me. Has the person forgotten that the folder is shared? ¿You have forgotten the person with whom the folder is shared?
Involuntary exchange is a real danger for lawyers, since more and more we use services like Dropbox, Box and SugarSync.
If in any case, one of the documents inadvertently shared with someone involves attorney-client privilege or work product. But it seems like a safe bet that the day will come when a lawyer puts the wrong document in the wrong shared folder., with disastrous results.
How to Stop Sharing a Folder in Dropbox?
It’s easy to determine if a Dropbox folder is shared. Log into your Dropbox website and look at the list of folders. If the folder is shared, it says “shared folder” next to the name.
To see who it is shared with, right-click on the folder and select “shared folder options”. (Alternatively, open the folder and select “shared folder options” at the top of the screen). There you will see an option to display the members of the folder.
Don’t forget that Dropbox installs a set of duplicate folders on your local computer to sync your desktop and the web. Folder icons on the desktop version of Dropbox they show a small image of a person to indicate when a folder is shared.
If you were the person who originally created and shared the folder, you can “do not share” Folder. To do this, open the shared folder options (by right-clicking on the folder) and click “members” to show the people with whom the folder is shared. From there, you can “expel“to individual members or stop sharing the entire folder.
Remember that just as Dropbox mirrored the folder on your desktop, it did the same on the desktops of the other members of the folder. As the owner of the folder, you can decide whether other members keep their copy of the shared folder.
When you stop sharing a folder or kick a member, Dropbox will ask if you want members to keep their copy of the folder and their files on the desktop. If you say no, the files will be immediately removed from their Dropbox websites and desktops the next time they sync their Dropbox folders.
There is another side to this. If you have files in a folder someone else created, you risk losing those files. If the person who originally shared the folder doesn’t share it, you may lose everything you have stored there, even if it has been synced with your desktop.
There are two ways to delete a shared folder from your Dropbox account: Temporarily delete the folder (with the option to add it again later). Permanently delete the folder.