The iPhone iOS13 operating system version unifies phone and friend search applications. Since then it is called Find My and they are also released on iPadOS 13 and macOS 10.15 Catalina. This tool is very useful to locate and track Apple devices and close friends, through the GPS and internet connection of your phone. If you still don't know how it works and what it gives you, here we explain how to use Find My on iPhone.
Find My helps you locate a missing, disconnected or idle device by sending bluetooth signals that can be detected by other nearby Apple devices, which can reveal the location of your device to iCloud and allow you to locate it with Find My. When you log in to a new device with your Apple ID, the Find My application is automatically activated. The activation lock, which prevents a stranger from using or selling your lost device, is automatically activated when you activate Find My. Then, require your Apple ID and password to delete or reactivate it. Apple receives encrypted location data when you actively locate your device, mark it as lost, or activate the option Send last location. They are kept for a maximum of 24 hours.
Find My offers three different tabs to find people or devices or share your own location, and in each of them the search topic is assigned to your current locations. Here’s how to get started.
- Start Settings and select your Apple ID.
- Choose Findy My and brela.
- To see your device when it is disconnected, enable the search function without connection.
- So that the location of your device is poisoned to Apple when the battery is low, activate Send last location.
- If your Apple watch and your AirPods are paired with your device, they are automatically set when you enable Find My.
How to find your iPhone or other Apple device
The main objective of Find My is to help locate the Phone, iPad and watch devices that you have lost, lost or stolen. The Find My feature works with Location Services, so to begin with, first access Settings> Privacy> Location services and activate the control. You can use Find My to have your device play an alarm sound, even if it was in silent mode the last time you used it. You can also set up a notification for when Find My locates your device, which is useful if your lost device's battery is low or dead or if your device is not connected to the Wi-Fi or mobile phone network. Whenever your device is detected, notify you.
When it is marked as lost, your device will lock, which requires your password to view your content. If your phone is disconnected, it will lock when you turn it on and you will receive an email notification to track your location. If you set up Find My for it, your phone number and your message can be displayed on the locked device so that anyone who finds it can notify you and even return it to you. You can also erase your device remotely so that no one can intrude into your private life, photos, emails or any other documentation. If you had credit, debit or prepaid cards in Apple Pay, the loss mode suspends this function so that no one can increase the number of charges in your account. Here’s how to configure Find My to manage a lost device.
Start the Find My application.
- Touch the Devices tab to see where all your devices are located on a map.
- Select the device you are missing.
- Scroll up and press one of the following buttons:
Play sound: Your device plays an alert signal (do not use AirPods, as the sound is loud and penetrating).
Instructions: The Maps application gives you directions on the location of your device.
Notifications: Access it if you are looking for your device and want to be notified if someone finds it.
Mark as lost: If you select Activate, your device will be marked as lost.
- If you have marked the device as Lost, tap Continue. You can enter your phone number or write a message to whoever finds your device, so that I can notify you and return it to you.
- To remotely erase a device, start Find My on your iPhone or iPad.
- Select the Devices tab and then on the device you wish to delete.
- Swipe up and press Clear this device.
- You can also enter your phone number or a message.
When you delete a device, all information, including Apple Pay credit, debit or prepaid cards, is also deleted, and you can no longer find it using the Find My or Find iPhone application on iCloud.com. If you delete the device from your account after deleting it, the activation lock will turn off, allowing another person to use your device. Make a backup of your iPhone on iCloud on a regular basis, in case you ever need to restore deleted data on an old phone or a new one.
How to share your location
The new Find My application introduced in iOS 13 allows you to share your current location with friends and family. When you start the app for the first time, it asks you to enable location services and choose when the app can use your location: Allow while using the app, Allow once or Do not allow. Allowing while using the application is the preferred and most limited use, which causes the same message to reappear every time you open Find My on your device. You can change this by going to Settings> Privacy> Location services.
- Click on My in the lower right of the screen.
- Select Share my location.
- Choose the device from which you want to share your location. With several devices, you can only select one at a time.
- When you share your location from an iPhone paired with an Apple Watch with GPS, your location changes to the clock whenever it is out of range of the iPhone.
- You can easily disable this option when you want your location to be private.
Sharing a location requires consent, so even if you share your location, that does not imply that the person with whom you share it will correspond.
How to find family and friends
With iOS 13 you can use the Find My Friends application to locate friends or family, which replaces the previous Find My Friends application from previous versions of iOS. To choose which contacts you want to locate, you must first share your location with them. To see the location of a friend, you must be invited from the “Find My Friends” app on your device. Then we explain how to do it.
- Select the People tab in the lower left corner of Find My and click on the Start location sharing button. Find My suggests contacts with whom to share the location, but you can invite anyone.
- Share your location during the following intervals: one hour, at the end of the day or indefinitely.
- Look at the information under the name of your contact and ask permission to follow its location.
- If you approve your request, its location will appear on your map, and you can stop sharing your own location if you wish.
- Apple designed the Find My application to automatically update the locations of people and devices minute by minute, but if that doesn't work, press the person's name or device to update their location or simply close and restart the application.
Find My is a serious application aimed at locating and tracking people and devices. Its use is the best way to find a lost device and take action if you think that device has fallen into the wrong hands. It is also a good way to make sure you keep track of friends or loved ones while traveling or doing a daily routine. But you must configure it on all your devices before an emergency occurs to help you optimally.