contador javascript Saltar al contenido
Contact : alejandrasalcedo0288@gmail.com

How to delete Siri recordings from Apple servers

After the shock, Apple customers were furious when they discovered that the company used humans to listen to Siri's voice recordings as part of a response sorting program designed to help Apple measure how well it could understand its digital assistant, interpreting “real life” voice questions, commands and other human interactions. These employees not only rated these Siri responses to the queries, but also determined whether they were accidentally requested. Faced with this justifiable fear, we will tell you how to delete Siri's recordings from Apple's servers.

This quality control process has worked too well, since the recordings, without the client's knowledge or consent, include a wide range of interactions with private discussions, personal and medical information, and even crimes and sexual acts, along with data of the user such as location, contact information and application data. While it is impossible to identify the user with their name or their Apple ID, this practice left many people exposed and betrayed even though such anonymous recordings accounted for less than 1% of all Siri interactions.

Apple stopped this practice last summer, apologized for it and offered customers a way to erase any of their voice recordings from their servers. While the company promotes privacy as an important selling point, it didn't give you the option of not suffering from this human quality control while using Siri. And with the new policy applied, Apple will only allow humans to participate in the control only if you explicitly allow it: Apple no longer collects recordings without permission. The brand also promised to offer users the option to participate, as well as delete recordings from Apple servers. This possibility is available in iOS 13.2 and we show you how to delete Siri recordings from Apple servers in iOS 13.2, 13.1 and on your Mac.

From the iPhone or iPad (iOS 13.2)

The latest iPhone software update allows you to choose to share Siri recordings with Apple and remove all your Siri recordings from Apple servers. In iOS 13.2, you will be asked if you want to share Siri recordings with Apple. This does not affect the functionality of the digital assistant. If you choose not to participate, Apple will not be able to use your recordings to improve the service.

  • Go to Configuration on your iPhone or iPad.
  • Click on Privacy> Analysis and improvements.
  • Deactivate Improve Siri and Dictation.
  • To delete any existing recording, go back to Configuration.
  • Go to Siri and Search> Siri and Dictation History.
  • Press the button Delete Siri's history and dictation.
  • Confirm that you want to delete the recordings and another message will appear informing you that your history is deleted from Apple servers.

From an iPhone or iPad (iOS 13.1)

  • Run the configuration application on the iOS device.
  • Touch Siri and search.
  • Disable the button Hear for Hey siri.
  • Disable the key Press / Start to activate Siri.
  • You can see a warning that you deactivate Siri. ChooseDisable Siri.
  • Click on the button Back in the upper left corner and in Configuration, Choose general.
  • Click on Keyboard.
  • Disable the button Activate dictation and touches Disable dictation.

Delete Siri recordings on a Mac (macOS 10.15.1)

Apple servers
  • Click on the Apple menu in the upper left corner of the screen and select System preferences.
  • Click on Siri.
  • Uncheck the box Enable Ask Siri.
  • Go back to System preferences and click on Keyboard.
  • Select the tab Dictation.
  • Select the button disabled for the option Dictation to deactivate it

Editor Recommendations





How to delete Siri recordings from Apple servers
4.8 (95.81%) 43 votes